FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > Virus > Anti bodies fall rapidly after infection

Anti bodies fall rapidly after infection

Jump to: Newest in thread

By *ackformore100 OP   Man  over a year ago

Tin town

Headline on BBC website... The implication seems to be that this may have an impact on any acquired immunity. Now I'm just a layman and don't understood immunology, virology, epidemiology and other "ologys"... But were that the case, wouldn't we be seeing a few more instances of second infections by now? Or is it just too early to say at the moment?

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By *asIsaCouple  over a year ago

harrow

"Headline on BBC website... The implication seems to be that this may have an impact on any acquired immunity. Now I'm just a layman and don't understood immunology, virology, epidemiology and other "ologys"... But were that the case, wouldn't we be seeing a few more instances of second infections by now? Or is it just too early to say at the moment? "

Well yes and in that article you can read about antibody memory - T cell immunity, which the Karolinska Institute in Sweden and their medical officer, Tegnell claim, can give up to 25% of the population a natural immunity, present from previous coronavirus ie colds etc. This could explain the very low levels of reinfection so not sure the scaremongering about the short period of B cell immunity is the whole story.

By *litterbabeWoman  over a year ago

hiding from cock pics.

The way I understand it it's natural for antibodies to fall in due course as there's no point in the body keeping making them unless it it is currently fighting infection.

The T cells remain though and once stimulated would produce antibodies once again if necessary.

I may be wrong about all of this but that is how I currently understand it.

(So whether somebody tests positive for antibodies or not does not actually prove if they will fight of a reinfection.)

Tin town