FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > The Lounge > Dialing 999

Dialing 999

Jump to: Newest in thread

By *thwalescpl OP   Couple  over a year ago

brecon

Had to give first aid to an old dear who had a fit in the supermarket queue ahead of us tonight, and someone else called 999.

Being a first aid instructor I know what to do, but was gobsmacked when the woman on the phone said "he (the 999 operator) says to put her on her back".

I said no, and put in the correct position (3/4 prone) and cleared her airway. Again she says "he's said to put her on her back", so I said I would talk to him. He was adamant that I put her on her back, so I told him I knew what I was doing and he was wrong "its standard proceedure" he says.

By now I had started to doubt myself, but luckily the ambulance crew and a paramedic car turned up.

After they had sorted her I asked about the "on her back" or not debate, and the paramedic was astonished, saying he (the 999 operator) shouldnt be telling people to do that!

So, best advice, do a course, and be confident in what you are doing.

Reply privately (thread closed by moderator)

By *issbehaveCouple  over a year ago

wrexham

Wow, well done you on many accounts, many people would never have helped in the first place, and for standing your ground and doing what you knew was right! You should be proud of yourself !!!

By (user no longer on site)  over a year ago

crikey, I hope you have reported the incident in writing. they need to get some training underway for their staff.

brecon

I assumed (perhaps wrongly) that the 999 operators were all trained to some degree to give advice on this sort of thing.

As to reporting it, not really sure who I would approach.

By *iewMan  over a year ago
Forum Mod

Angus & Findhorn

I would report, all calls are recorded and will be available to support training needs.

By *atisfy janeWoman  over a year ago

Torquay