FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > The Lounge > Harry Potter

Harry Potter

Jump to: Newest in thread

By *ssex_tom OP   Man  over a year ago

Chelmsford

University literature students reading the Philosophers Stone are being warned that it could trigger them because of issues in the book such as child abuse. Remember that Harry was locked under the stairs. Should these books just be banned. It's all over the news.

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By (user no longer on site)  over a year ago

Can we also ban politics and governments, it hurts me to read these dipshits do on daily basis

By *aughty but nice...Man  over a year ago

Staffs

"Can we also ban politics and governments, it hurts me to read these dipshits do on daily basis "

Here here I'm with you there

By *he Mac LassWoman  over a year ago

Hefty Hideaway

As a university literature student I can confirm we don’t get trigger warnings. We read plays/poems/novels that have a lot of difficult content that makes a boy under the stairs look like a holiday. Maybe we’re harder in the North.

Chelmsford

It's Chester Uni. Is that up north...

Ban them? Really?! I can understand them using trigger warnings if they want to but banning them is extreme.

"It's Chester Uni. Is that up north... "

No, it's in the middle

By *aitonelMan  over a year ago

Liverpool

"Ban them? Really?! I can understand them using trigger warnings if they want to but banning them is extreme. "

It is quite funny actually, book 5 Order of the Phoenix actually touches on a similar subject in the limiting of things that can be taught at school etc because it's not what a a certain group feel should be taught.

By *hrough the looking gla55Couple  over a year ago

Cheam

Based on that logic shouldn’t we also ban Shakespeare… but to name a few.