FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > The Lounge > taekwondo politics!!

taekwondo politics!!

Jump to: Newest in thread

By (user no longer on site) OP     over a year ago

i have just been reading up on the Aaron Cook situation in the taekwondo selection argument.

now i have no knowledge of the sport or its structure but reading what i have, i am leaning towards his side of the street feeling that he was overlooked purely because he decided to opt out of the recognised GB development programme and go it alone. His subsequent success under his own training and development programme suggest that this has worked and surely we should be taking our best athletes to the games??

A big well done to Lutalo Muhammad for his bronze medal and i feel for him after the abuse he has received from some quarters, for something that wasnt his fault.

Do people think that GB taekwondo were justified in their selection or could Cook have gone further and made the final?? or were they just pissed off that their development programme didnt work for him but his own did and the decision was politically motivated?

as i said, i have no in depth knowledge so welcome other views.

discuss

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By *abioMan  over a year ago

Newcastle and Gateshead

okay..... the other arguement that was put forward is that there has been a change in some of the scoring rules (the electronic pads, the scoring area, and video replay/appeals) that would benefit the style of muhammad...

i felt sorry for both cook, and muhammad for having to go thru this.... and the british taekwondo federation handled it really badly.....

they could have had a fight off for the place.. and muhammad and cook were happy to do this, but the federation didn't want to....

By (user no longer on site)  over a year ago