FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > The Lounge > Carpenters/Kitchen Fitters - Worktop Advice

Carpenters/Kitchen Fitters - Worktop Advice

Jump to: Newest in thread

By (user no longer on site) OP     over a year ago

I've just moved into a property with wooden worktops (nevr had them before) and am trying to find out a bit more about looking after them.

They look varnished to me (I'm no expert) but apparently according to Google this is very unlikely. How do I tell?

I don't have contact with the old owner so can't just ask them.

I'm really paranoid about looking after them as I know water marks and such are an issue, and they aren't something I could afford to replace.

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By (user no longer on site)  over a year ago

Solid wood worktops are pretty rare OP. Is it possible they are actually Formica with a wood-effect veneer ? If so they are much more durable, stain resistant and easy care than solid wood.

They should be oiled only

They're probably oiled, not varnished. I oil mine a couple of times a year but they recommend every three months I think.

"Solid wood worktops are pretty rare OP. Is it possible they are actually Formica with a wood-effect veneer ? If so they are much more durable, stain resistant and easy care than solid wood."

No, they are wood - I can tell by the edges where its around my sink (there's a cut out with a belfast sink under).

Osma oil

"They're probably oiled, not varnished. I oil mine a couple of times a year but they recommend every three months I think."

Do I need to find out/use the same oil as before?

"Osma oil"

Thanks, I'll Google it. I keep reading about Danish oil when I look.

"Solid wood worktops are pretty rare OP. Is it possible they are actually Formica with a wood-effect veneer ? If so they are much more durable, stain resistant and easy care than solid wood.