FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > Mobile Web App feedback > 1980s web app?

1980s web app?

Jump to: Newest in thread

By *m-Batman OP   Man 6 weeks ago

Gotham

Ha, I’m curious and by no means is this a negative comment… genuine question here…

Love Fab, I’m a paid supporter - met and spoken with some great people, and have loved dipping a toe in the scene so far - it’s all great fun, and ticking off my bucket list etc

But, how come the site cosmetics and functionality is like from 1989 dial up internet? Is it by choice? Is it to add to the uniqueness of it? Is it because the site really is that old and it’s just too legacy built to make a switch?

I mean, I’ve been working online since (seriously) 1995 with dial up and love the nostalgic vibe - but I’m honestly wondering if it’s intentional?

Kinda fun though limited to just a dozen MSM style emojis from ICQ - makes you really think about which one to send, if any, with your messages…

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By *idden Gem69Woman 6 weeks ago

north lanarkshire

Because its not broke so why try to fix it? Fab works just how it is, people search chat and meet up, have been doing so for years.

By *inkForLifeCouple 6 weeks ago

North Shields

I think the lack of fancy smooth graphics and stupidly overly complicated user interaction is what makes fab so successful, along with its perfect pricing structure.

Gotham

Yeah can’t argue with that. It’s sort of quirky and the quirkiness adds to its appeal and uniqueness.

Like I said, I’m a paid supporter - so I’m not being negative. Was just genuinely curious if it was a conscious decision to make it old school, or, is it an old site that never needed to change since like you said - no need to try to fix what isn’t broken.

By *bi HaiveMan 6 weeks ago
Forum Mod

Cheeseville, Somerset

I mean....the www wasn't opened to the public til 1993.

But Fab has evolved since 2006. It's not an app and never pretended to be.